Neorama Entertainment

Comic Book Blog and Geek Entertainment

Afterthought Review: H.P. Lovecraft’s Haunts of Horror #3 of 3

This week’s afterthough takes a look at the final installment to Marvel MAX’s adaption of the works of H.P. Lovecraft, Haunts of Horror #3 of 3. I am a longtime fan of this underrated and prolific author of some of the strangest fiction I have ever encountered and jump at the chance to check out anything remotely Lovecraftian. The first issue of this three part series was good an enticed me to pick up the second. That one was not so good. However, being the obsessive fan that I am, I have just got finished with the third and final installment. How did it hold up.

Again, Richard Corben provided the story adaptations and artwork on all three tales. The writing on the first story is smooth enough, though the ending seems a bit rushed and the other two stories seem more like highlights (Cliffnotes, if you will) of the stories they are adapted from. Also in the first story, the art has improved from the other issues despite the obvious disproportions. However, it falters in the later two stories. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, H.P. Lovecraft adaptations need to be shadowy and dark – something that Haunts of Horror lacks.

Again, I find the best part of this issue is the inclusion of the original works by H.P. Lovecraft. I rate this issue 2/5 stars.

August 29, 2008 - Posted by | Comic Books, Marvel, Marvel MAX, Reviews, Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment